SUNFLOWERS ON SILLY SATURDAY

After I had posted my Blip of the Closing Ceremony of A.O.G. early yesterday morning, I spent the rest of the day rubbing down paintwork and then painting doors and doorways and other things that needed painting around our garage.  We had quite a few rain storms during the day, but fortunately all the work I did was undercover. I started at 10 a.m. and finished at about 6.30 p.m. and by then I was cream-crackered but it was very satisfying to get it all done and I slept well last night.   

We decided to pop over to Brinkworth Walled Garden Nursery this morning, so before we went I thought I would do a selfie in front of Mr. HCB’s wonderful sunflowers.  These were grown by his fair hand from seed, and some of them are almost 8 feet tall.  I was trying different angles, because being only 5’2” myself, it was hard to get the height of the sunflowers in.  Then I realised that Mr. HCB was trying to photobomb me, so I just let him carry on being silly and I’m sure that Admirer would have approved of his silliness!

The top photograph in the collage is Mr. HCB with his sunflowers, covered with stars because he has been a star during the whole of the Alternative Olympic Games - sorting out the snails when they went missing, watching them when they were on the podium to make sure they didn’t slither off, and finding food for them when they needed to be fed, so I thought that I would document the fact that he has been very helpful.  I did offer to pay him, but he said that he would rather the money went into the Fund for Retired and Worn-Out Snails so I have made a donation instead of paying him.

I enjoyed reporting from the A.O.G. and doing all the interviews with the various snails, but I must confess I will enjoy having a lie-in instead of getting up at the crack of dawn.  

I have finished off a couple of jobs outside this afternoon and instead of Afternoon Tea with the neighbours today, we are having Fish & Chips, so we are looking forward to that.  It means I don’t have to cook, which is great and as it’s a lot cooler today, and raining from time to time, so we’re glad that we have a lovely carport so that we can sit underneath without getting wet.  Hope you all have a good weekend, whatever you’re doing.

“If roses tried to be sunflowers, 
     they would lose their beauty; 
and if sunflowers tried to be roses, 
     they would lose their strength.”
Matshona Dhliwayo

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.