Hot Proboscis Action at Greenwood Furnace

It continues to be hot enough around here that I've still been trying to do the outdoor things that matter to me early in the day. So it was that we went for a morning swim at Greenwood Furnace State Park. We took my Chevy Sonic, a car we mostly treat as a luxury cruiser for fun weekend jaunts.

We went for our swim, and when we got back to my car, there were three red-spotted purple butterflies playing all over it. They sat on the hood, on the mirror, on the grill, on the roof (look at this one's amazing, curly proboscis!). And they posed for a whole bunch of pictures. I almost couldn't believe it, but I have photographic PROOF! It was like the Blessing of the Butterflies.

Maybe they liked the car's color (Arctic Blue) or perhaps it has a flavor! I have never seen such a thing before. But red-spotted purples are among the friendliest of butterflies. So if there were indeed to be any extra-friendly butterflies, of course, it would be them. It felt like a very special occasion; and I was certain that my Butterfly Sister was near me, watching over me, saying Hello.

The soundtrack song . . . well, there was a trio of butterflies, so it seemed appropriate to pick a song from one of the Trio albums, featuring Dolly, Emmylou, and Linda. Here is a song from Trio II that I think fits the occasion: Do I Ever Cross Your Mind.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.