wingpig

By wingpig

look before you leak

Half-way through what was shaping up to be a pleasant afternoon walk, Amos got his first bee sting. Whilst I was removing the detached stinger at what I thought was a safe distance, Edgar got his first bee sting. When I was picking the stinger off him further away still, I got one in my arm. Fortunately, it was only bees rather than wasps and I had an antihistamine on me, which Amos seemed to need the most. After scuttling home, administering tablets to Edgar and I and cleaning the injection sites and so on I scootled off to the chemist for some topical antihistamine. I don't think I've had a bee sting since there was one in a fresh-from-the-washing-line sock I put on when I was about seven; all subsequent events including hospitalisations have been more waspy, and when I was tested for allergies bees scored a lot lower than wasps, but I've fished out both EpiPens in case.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.