pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Worth of words

Whilst not wandering quite “as lonely as a cloud” I did take a stroll downstream as it had been a while.

Such a beautiful day demanded as much time in the outdoors as possible, so having already been into town for a couple of bits, I threw some snacks in a bag with the camera and headed off again. 

Initially a little disappointed at not having seen the kingfisher again, I plonked myself down in the spot you see here to soak up some rays and food, when low and behold there was an unmistakable blue flash and a kingfisher landed under some cover on the riverbank directly opposite me.

I made my along and over the river to come back up the other side and it was so hot and the water looked so enticing, I removed my footwear and let my feet be buffeted by the flow of the river. My feet were soon joined by tiny fish swimming around and over them. I’d even brought my notepad and pen and jotted down a few lines that came to mind, whilst I sat there soaking in serenity.

I could quite happily have spent the remainder of the day there, but went on my way with the rest of the day rounded out with a brew with friends, a cheeky run and a barbecue with the neighbours in an area adjacent to the house opposite which has now been dubbed the local and named “The Bike and Boat” – this is due to the presence of an old road bike which has been mounted to the wall in tribute to the Tour of Britain (I think?!) which passes through Kendal and a boat which sits in the corner and as far as I can tell has only been near rainwater.

The children are back with me on Sunday. I have nothing planned for the day beyond an epic cuddle and seeing where we go from there…

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.