pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Weekended

Despite yesterday’s run and a delicious dinner last night, the legs felt like they had bit more to offer today, so having had my morning brew and caught up on blip, I took myself out for a run.

It hadn’t long since rained, so the atmosphere was lovely and cool with the light picking out the water residue on everything that had cared to hold it. Ludovico played in my ears and helped to simultaneously fuel my mind whilst slowing my pace around the 13k route. The last time I enjoyed a run this much is when I went slightly longer and did just over 14k.

Usually I’m a shower man, but today I felt like I’d earned a bath (with bubbles, I’m not a philistine) and settled in for a long hot soak….which was curtailed by a call from EW2 asking if she could drop The Wee Ones off a little earlier for our family lunch out out. I hastily washed off my bubble hair (a guy can dream) disembarked.

We joined my parents at their place where a very excited niece was painting rocks and was delighted to see her cousins, who were just as pleased to see her. There were cuddles all round before a walk into town for lunch at The Shakespeare courtesy of my father. I can’t remember the last time we were all together like that (minus The Eldest of course), but it was a lovely lunch.

The morning’s activities and remainder of the weekend caught up with me and I knew that I needed some rest, so spent a very nice afternoon splayed on the sofa, dozing intermittently between various sports and enjoying the fact that West Ham won their opening Premier League match against Newcastle!!

It’s been a fantastic weekend spent in the company of the best friends and family a chap could possibly hope for.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.