pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Trees topped (and bottomed)

I must say that I do enjoy these three day weekends I have throughout the summer holidays. 

It is only a temporary measure, so it is going to be quite a shock to the system when we are back on our regular come September! Following the lovely weekend with LadyV, it was nice to have a quiet one with the wee ones today (The Eldest is still off on her travels with her mum).

When I say “quiet”, I mean that we didn’t that venture too far or have any activities booked. M’sister was after some school shoes for the niece, so we all took a stroll into town to visit Clarks and got her sorted. Not long after we broke off and the three wee ones came with me as we visited the bakery and the sweet stall in the indoor market.

On our way home we played avoid the cracks on the path (extra). This was really just a diversionary tactic so we didn’t have to look to the left and see this shot where a beautiful row of trees was being ripped down to make way for the flood defences. I’m not a hippy-dippy tree-hugger or anything, but I do love and respect nature, so to see these beautiful old things - which must have been standing for hundreds of years - being unceremoniously torn down and fed to the chipper, was surprisingly harrowing and I didn’t care for it at all.

Fortunately, distractions followed in the form of a lovely few hours as the cousins sat and lunched together after which they spent over an hour on the colouring-in bits I’d bought for them yesterday. When interest in that waned the girls went outside to make potions, whilst m’boy hid in his room for some screen time. 

The day finished on a high with a whole family trip to chippy on the high street and it wasn’t half bad either.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.