pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

'neath the sweet peas

Day break meant a brew in bed with LadyV with a bacon and egg butty shortly thereafter underneath the sweet peas in her back garden.

You could tell immediately that it was going to be another scorcher. There was plenty of evidence as we walked along the prom as a variety of people in various states of undress displayed a multitude of creative (and bad) tattoos, scandalously short shorts (talking the fellas here) and in one case and an ankle tag, which in my sheltered upbringing, I had never seen before.

We took a stroll through the indoor and outdoor markets, picking up some pies for lunch and some colouring-in bits and pieces for our respective children. I was strong and able to resist the allure of an amazingly good-looking sweet stall.

We made it back to LadyV’s and scoffed down our pies for lunch (I went the traditional devour it all with my hands route, using a fork, hers was a more elegant eat the roof and filling before coming back for the walls type affair) before it was time to get back out on the paddle boards again.

With the heat ramping up, I slipped into the sea to cool down and wet my hat before we continued on our way. I’m not entirely sure how far we paddled, but it felt like it might have been a couple of miles perhaps? Whatever, it was glorious and we chatted away before slipping back into the sea to cool down once more. Eventually, we made it back to our loading slipway and linking boards we gently bobbed around for a bit and floated back to shore.

We finished a smokin’ hot, extremely fun weekend together with an ice cream after which I climbed back into the car and cranked up the aircon. 

I returned home for some Chinese food and a bonus bit of time with my wider family who are growing increasingly addicted to my adoptive hometown….

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.