pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Family, friends and food

Still feeling a little groggy from a few pints from the night before, but knowing also that a blow-out evening dinner with Simmo beckoned, I started my day with a 5k run, which I think just about enabled me to sweat out most of the toxins.

A quick trip into town was also on the cards to get a couple of treats for my niece who was visiting (and also bringing her parents). It was lovely to catch up with them for a little while, but I must confess that the previous night’s endeavours and the run had caught up with me a little and so I popped home to crash out for a bit and squeeze in a luxuriant afternoon nap.

Re-energised, I trimmed the bush in my front garden (stop giggling at the back) before the family descended on me for a little while for tea and cake.

Before very much longer, Simmo arrived to collect me and we headed to The Highwayman for a long-booked dinner, which I have to say was absolutely delicious. If you’re ever over this way, give it a try. Nice atmosphere and great service. I went for a Steak and Ale pie, she opted for what you see here: a beautifully presented Seabass thing in a chorizo influenced sauce.

It was a fine way to end the day and because she had to drive, I had no option but to nurse a perfect-temperature tempranillo as we caught up with each other’s lives. Probably didn’t need the waffle, ice cream, compote combo anymore that Simmo needed a massive bowl of crème brulee, but we did the decent thing and gave it a go anyway.

Another run will be required in the not too distance future.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.