pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Tipsy blipsy

The children have been shattered this week. 

Whether as a result of running up and down sand dunes or playing for hours in the park with friends or hauling themselves in and out of Windermere, it’s been for all the right reasons and it’s been an absolute pleasure seeing them making the most of the summer hols.

It has led to some tired tears and challenging behaviour of an evening, but it’s been worth it. It’s why I was happy to have a quiet day with them today, so we popped into town this morning for some books from the charity shop and posh cakes to take round to the parents for an afternoon brew.

They have been absolutely lovely to be around and at times have even played quite nicely….together!

It set me up nicely for a quiet couple of beers with Russ before we were joined by a couple of chums for a very pleasant couple of hours chatting and talking rubbish in Kendal’s hottest new bar. I had to break off midway through for some grub as a man of my age knows that drinking on an empty tum doesn’t lead you anywhere pleasant.

In my tipsy state, I was feeling quite happy with the world as I wandered home, snapping the beautifully lit Kendal Parish Church before collapsing in front of the relentlessly charming Ted Lasso.

Happy weekend!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.