SPhotography-One Year V2

By SummersPhoto

One Year in Business...

Today saw the one year anniversary of me leaving Heathrow.

Where on earth has the year gone?!

It has been a year of ups and downs, the disappointment of the work planned after LHR not panning out, the hard work of rebuilding the business plan to work out something new that would support us, the launch of my own bespoke photography courses, the unexpected interim work that kept us afloat, then the photography work started building. A fluke meeting with an old customer from Klick days 9 years ago got the ball rolling for me to teach photography part time at college. I've completely landed on my feet in a role I love, with incredible colleagues and a job that is keeping me up to date in my field.

All work that I am doing just now is photography related, college, my own courses, weddings, portraits, events, corporate work and now a new small role of organising the photographers needed for events at our church, it is all so incredible and really cannot believe it has all happened in 12 short months.

LHR left me in good stead to set up my own successful business and I will always treasure my time there.

Today was a milestone. The first pre-wedding shoot that I have shot in a little while, and was so great to get back into the groove and mind-set of a pre wed shoot, rather than a portrait session, very different sessions. Todays shoot was for a couple that I am shooting their wedding in May. I met B through a friend and we have become great friends now over the past year since meeting her fiancé. It was a real chilled out shoot and you could absolutely see how relaxed they both were by the end of the session. This is one of my favourite images from the day.

Afterwards, I had a meeting with another wedding supplier in the area to see if we could work together in the future. Another opportunity to build local businesses.

There have been a lot of people that have supported me this year, namely two people that have supported me from the word go. Mum and Steve. Without their help, advice, support, guidance, love, money (!), a shoulder to cry on, a voice to sound out new ideas to, there is absolutely no way that I would have made it this far.

Heres to the next year of being in business.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.