SPhotography-One Year V2

By SummersPhoto

Ciao, au revoir & all those goodbyes to Heathr

"Never say goodbye, never say goodbye,
You and me and our best friends,
hoping it would never end.
Never say goodbye"

Well, today is here. 9th February 2012. The day I stop being employed and step into being self employed with my own photography business tomorrow - 10th February 2012.

Today has been an AMAZING day.

Let me fill you in on today - this is going to be a long blip text!

Heathrow has been my workplace home for 6 years and made it pretty clear over my blipping days that I adore that place. Today is my last day at Heathrow.

I was in the office all day today getting everything ready to hand back over. It was like being stripped of my prised possessions - my phone, laptop and beloved airside pass! :( I have went to check my work iPhone so many times tonight, forgetting I don't have it any more.

At lunch time I was asked to go downstairs to our big training rooms to get my laptop "updated". Obedient employee that I am, I walked down the winding staircase with my manager, walked into the conference room to shouts of !!!SURPRISE!!! from my team mates! The "training session" was a surprise leaving do party. To say I was stunned, is a bit of an understatement. Posters on the wall with photos of the team over the years, food, drink, special chocolate cake and lots of chat was just the perfect way to spend lunchtime together.

An hour or so later, more of my BAA team arrived and this is where the tears start to flow. Kind words from my manager, then she handed me some very beautifully wrapped presents and a card. Im a very "wordy" person, so always go straight for the card. Such beautiful sentiments and statements that got me welling up. Trying to keep it together, I move onto the presents. Of course!

A stunning pink glass photo frame, a beautiful bouquet of flowers and the best handbag from Harrods. Truly spoiled! Then I was given another present which was a Swarovski crystal PINK pen! Man do these guys know me or what?!

Reading a poem from the card aloud to everyone in the room, made me realise what special friends I have made along the way and some incredible memories.

Memories and friendships that I will cherish forever.

So, arrivederci, au revoir, ciao and goodbye to the past 6 years in a great role.

Lets say bonjour, buon giorno and hello to brand new beginnings.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.