Apples

Another tropical day. We went for a walk because cycling in the Heuvelland is not very attractive. Nevertheless, there were many mountain bikers on the hiking trails.

At the village of Eys, we saw that the apple trees were covered with fly netting. Why didn't I think of that? Yesterday when I picked up the fallen apples from our own tree, I was surrounded by wasps. They're harmless, but I had to pick up the apples very carefully and with sturdy garden gloves so as not to anger them.
By the way, what struck me about our apple tree was the smell of alcohol. The neighbour who does want our apples thinks it is still too early to take them off the tree, whereas I most years start right after the first of August. I wonder if maybe I was too early and if I shouldn't have waited for an alcohol scent to come out of the apples.
It makes me curious about how his applesauce will taste.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.