Grant Park Beach...

...and a photo of some of the people that were enjoying the 83 degree weather (28C).  I thought it was funny that the gull was sitting on top of the "No Lifeguard" sign, as if it were watching over everyone! (although it's much more likely that it's hoping for food!)The beach cafe is open as well, off to my left, but it made me uncomfortable as I was one of the few wearing a mask, and there was a long line at the cafe to order, with the people all crowded together, so I just stayed away from that whole side of the area. Last evening my daughter and the granddaughters walked over from their apartment to visit us. (Well, technically, Noelia was pushed). While Jennie sat in the porch and talked with Tom, Mae strolled around the back yard, then told me my bird feeder was almost empty and asked if she could fill it.  I got the feeder down off the pole and she filled it. Then she took the watering can and watered her sunflower and my tomatoes. She asked what else she could do to help, which I thought was so sweet. So I asked her if she'd like to water the plants out in front of the house, and she said sure. I have a hose out front, so I handed it to her since she's used it before, only she squeezed the nozzle as tight as she could and the water was turned on high, so it scared her. Instead of just taking her hand off the nozzle, she turned toward me and frantically said:  "Grandma, take it!" .......as the water shot all over me! I was drenched--like totally doused-- and grabbed the hose away from her and it stopped. She stood there like a deer in the headlights, just waiting with this look of horror on her face, and I just started laughing. She looked so relieved, then SHE started laughing, and says: "Grandma, you look pretty funny....like you just took a shower with your clothes on!" So I picked up the hose and aimed it at her and she took off like a rocket, screaming in delight, "You can't get me".......and she was right, as the hose doesn't go that far! :)))  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.