Our Stream

Well we woke up to torrential rain (at last) and it looks like we will going to bed with it too. It did rather spoil the carefully made plans we had made for our day. Especially when Jon noticed the conservatory was leaking, and so was the back door. Cue for him to grab a long ladder from next door and check the gutter, which was very blocked. So hopefully the pounding on the conservatory roof that I can hear from the lounge, is just that and no more leaks.

I had to drive in to Norwich to find a branch of pets at home to buy some red mite powder for the hens. It was hot and dry, and there was a long SD queue, in which I took my place.

Home at 12.30ish and had a coffee with Jon and Henry.

Spent the afternoon weeding and planting pansies in my pots at the front by the wall by the stream. I also planted the baby gunnera into the bank by the stream, to the far side of the photo on the left. You can’t see it here, but in a few years I hope it is giant! I’ve always wanted a gunnera since seeing one growing in Shanklin Chine a few years ago. This area is a bit wild and I like it that way. The other big leaves belong to a plant I don’t remember it’s name, but it has spread right through the whole bank. As the other plant that grows prolifically here is ground elder, I don’t mind this taking over. It is wet and very shady, and things growing here can’t really be seen, so it needs to have plants with big leaves. My gunnera will be perfect here! I love that we have this stream.

Jon fixed a new shelf in the office for my screen and laptop. It should be at a better height now.

Sat down after dinner, and watched an episode of A Suitable Boy. Now time for tv and relaxing a bit.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.