FlyingPRGal

By FlyingPRGal

Dove Rescue

Oh what a day! So much for a quiet weekend... Discovered a leak from my kitchen wastewater pipe last night and so the plumber came out this morning to replace it. He was due Monday anyway to further investigate the blockage problem (unassociated) but there was no time for that today.

There was time however for him to replace my shower and bathroom sink taps. So nice not to have a dripping tap or leaking shower hose which has been ongoing for weeks.

Brief escape at lunchtime for a tour of my friend’s garden allotment and chinwag in the shade before returning home to my usual ‘Saturday morning chores’ delayed by the plumber visit and water being turned off. Early evening I’m freshly showered and dinner is prepped about to go in the oven when my neighbour calls in a panic about an injured and trapped bird.

So a quick change into old clothes and I duck through garden bushes in the rain and sit on a wet brick wall to lower myself into a 4ft deep window box. I rescue an injured fledgling collared dove that can’t find its way out of the window box. I had hoped to retreat back to my flat and my dinner then but my neighbour was so stressed out over the bird I offered to go to the vet with her (masked up) and hold the box with the bird while she drove.

Two hours later I eventually get home and sit down to dinner with a headache at 10pm. Hope the dove survives after all this.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.