JennyOwen

By JennyOwen

An exploration

One of the bits of voluntary work I've done in retirement, over the last year, has been to take photos of 'public art' for an organisation called ArtUK.  They aim to record art works that are located in the public domain - on the street, in shopping centres, in parks etc - and to make them available in a database for anyone to see and enjoy.  My part of this has been to document sculptures located outdoors in the Sheffield area (not in museum or church collections etc).
During lockdown we had to stop any voluntary photography, until restrictions were lifted. Then times were busy with the family. This week I've just got back into seeking out some of the works I need to find and photograph. It all has to be done and sent in by the end of September. One of this morning's finds is added here as an extra.
By chance, this morning's expedition led me up a hidden green lane next to the park and woodland where I was finding sculptures.  A beautiful, slightly sunken lane, between walls and trees that were slowly blending into each other. I don't know how old it is. But it was extremely peaceful, and it will be good to come back when the leaves are changing colour.
This week's newspaper and online reports of the ongoing disaster with A level results have been deeply depressing. I used to deal with undergraduate admissions, when I was a university lecturer. I know what the stress and the chaos will be like at the moment, for young people devastated at their mangled results and for the families and the teaching staff (school, college, university) who want to support them. There was no excuse for this mess, given that there were months in which to plan ways of dealing with the Covid problems. 
So my escape under the trees was a therapeutic one.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.