Temporary

A stop at temporary traffic lights meant we got a great view of the ongoing restoration of Shrewsbury Flaxmill Maltings. Definitely not a temporary edifice! Unfortunately, tours of this huge building aren't possible at the moment, largely because of the stage of building works they're at, but I've made a note that the visitor centre is open and you can learn all about how flax was processed. What caught my eye really was the delicate cupola, just visible over this massive industrial structure. Imagine modern factories doing the same. Having said that, Shrewsbury household waste centre (!) has a whimsical piece of sculpture made of bits and bobs and the building itself is quite an elegant shape, so maybe I'm being a bit judgemental!

A visit to the industrial estate for paint and ostrich bones (I know, we really know how to live!) and home via Sainsbury's as (a) I smashed the Hornsea Pottery caddy that had LH's coffee in it and we needed a plastic replacement (I was very sad about that - love my Hornsea Pottery finds), and (b) I'd finally finished the Marmite. I saw a special version you can now buy which says it's basically 'mature'. Frankly, my Marmite jar lasts years and tastes no different so I really don't see the point!

Home quickly, then I buzzed out again to approve Dad's Christmas card proof. Back home to find LH panicking as we'd had a phone call from the estate agent requesting a viewing at 6:15pm (it was now 5:30) from a cash buyer desperate to sort something pronto. Talk about high excitement! Not much to do so a quick whizz through and then thumb twiddling; come 7:00pm and no expected visitors and we were rather fed up. Glad we finally gave up and cooked a meal otherwise we'd have been eating at midnight. There's probably a good reason they didn't show but they were given our contact number and a courtesy call would have been nice.

Ah well ...

I've just noticed this my 3rd year of blipping; it's been a lot of fun and made a lot of interesting and lovely connections - such a refreshingly positive place to be, even during the past few months. Sorry I'm incommunicado at present but I'll be back when I can. Meanwhile, thank you all for being such super people and permitting me a glimpse of your personal worlds ♡

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.