Madness

Yesterday I joked a bit about descending into madness, Today I think the descent is complete.  In a zoom conversation with our our Pilates teacher this morning I said I was getting pretty fed up with living this existence that came on us out of the blue and has gone on far longer than anyone could have imagined. Her comment was that sometimes she felt she was living simultaneously in parallel universes. That describes it pretty well. One day feels relatively normal and on the next one everything is completely off kilter.

This morning we had another wild thunderstorm . The sky grew incredibly dark. Lightning was striking all around, the wind was gusting and it started to rain. Then the power went out. This was the true test for the battery. We waited for it to kick in, but it never happened. Back to square one in the dark with no power and no phone to call anybody.  The mood was rapidly becoming dangerously balanced between frustration and depression. 

Many attempted  aborted phone calls,  and even a scam in which somebody intercepted a phone call  which resulted in having to cancel our credit card resulted,. Texts ensued in which it seemed as if Ali, who installed the system was suggesting that John should talk to the inverter people. John said: 
1) I have no power and no working  phones
2) I don't understand how this system  is supposed to work.
3) I am not going to get in a pissing contest between you and your supplier. You have to deal with them.
He went to the neighbors' house where their generator had gone on when the power went off to send the text. While he was there the power came back on.

I am quietly tearing my hair out and trying to stay out of it...without a lot of success. All this is making John feel stupid, which he isn't ,  and me feel bitchy, which I am...

Ali is supposed to come over tomorrow morning. I would like to feel that  he'll be able to fix everything, or at least talk to somebody who CAN fix it. Precedent does not suggest that this will be the case...

We have spent thousands of dollars and many months on a system which doesn't work, and an unresponsive tech support team just as the  fire season and power shutdowns are beginning again. I'm sure it will all get worked out eventually, but I don't think a glass of wine or even a whisky are likely to help tonight.



I hope we get back to the other parallel tomorrow....the one that is more 
'normal'.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.