Figure in the Wood

It's been a busy day when I have been very disciplined about the things I need to practise regularly:  my Czech learning; recorder playing and my daily workout.  It was easy in the morning because the weather was poor but then the sun came out after lunch and I just had to get out for a walk.  I went around the estate, a little worried about how busy it might be but it wasn't too bad.  I passed Hobbler Sam and we had a chat, then I took a quieter route through Altar Wood, passing by the chainsaw carving.  Earlier I had passed by Lady Blantyres Rock which once housed another chain saw carving of LadyB,  now completely eaten away and returned to the soil.  When I searched for that blip I read that I had written of my concern for trees having to be chopped down due to the virus, and sadly that happened.  Later in my walk I went through the section of felled woodland and, although it now looks very different, it was heartwarming to see a wide variety of plants and wildflowers growing and that the vast majority of the newly planted trees are now peeking above their protective tubing.

Still avoiding the busiest part of the estate, I dropped down to the reservoir path and discovered a blackberry bush laden with ripe fruit.  Unfortunately, I had no bag other than my small rucksack with me, so I was very pleased when a passing dog walker gave me one of her unused dog bags.  Blackberry and apple pie tomorrow methinks!

Back home I noticed that the chicory jungle is looking like it has gone over so I've taken the clippers to it!  A bit extreme but I'm thinking ahead to the predicted high winds at the end of the week so it's better for it to be cut back now.  There are lots of other wildflowers to come through yet on the mini meadow, and it will be predominantly pink as opposed to chicory blue!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.