pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

purpose

“As it’s been a bit drizzly, Daddy, you might find that the smaller birds come down to feed.”

No sooner had m’boy finished his sentence than a flurry of blue tits and sparrows descended upon the feeders and have been regularly visiting over the past day or so. 

Despite my age, appearance, IQ, general demeanour, I still consider myself a younger man, so I never thought I would find myself in a position of being pleased to see a small selection of small birds in my back yard. Simple things, eh?

Being back at work (or laptop) with a fair bit to get through, I felt a little more like myself today with a renewed sense of purpose. I even dedicated some serious time to the piano and am slowly (very) but surely getting my two hands working together to produce a not entirely unpleasant sound! 

The next stage of the book is to move on to some proper chords, which I’m looking forward to as I’m reliably informed that if I learn three of them, I’ll be able to play Status Quo’s entire back catalogue (thank you, Jenny!) and then work can begin in earnest on playing ‘Wait for It’.

To me, the song is perfect and this sequence in particular slays me every time:-

"I am the one thing in life I can control
I am inimitable I am an original
I'm not falling behind or running late
I'm not standing still
I am lying in wait" 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.