Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

Back to School

(the gloves are off)

The downstairs neighbour is a schoolteacher who benefits from magnificently long holidays. - Hurrah for her!
Happily, she likes to spend them in Thailand.

Downstairs has been silent for weeks and it has been bliss.
But last night the music started.
And then, at about 3am, I can only assume that the entire rucksack of sweaty clothing was tipped into the washing machine.

I drew this conclusion because I know a fair bit about laundry and also about time zones;
This smacked of a mis-managed laundry-load at a preposterous time of day night.

This evening - more loud noise in the guise of music.

After three hours I lost my rag and stamped the floor.
The floor stamped back -
 but at least the volume of the other noise was reduced immediately.

How I wish she taught maths, or physics, or geography. 
Anything but music.
Then she'd understand the relationship between liquids and gravity.

I never used to spit back.
I guess I've had just enough of being treated as “lesser”

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.