It Started Down Under

By dirk

Arrested, to the Library and Central Station

Today I visited the Melbourne Gaol (pronounce: jail). I had an extensive look in all the cells and at the outfits that Ned Kelly used to resist bullets from the sheriffs at that time. I saw the gallows where he had been executed and I even experienced how it was to be arrested and processed through the old Melbourne Watch House (used until 1994).

From there I walked up to the State Library. Whilst inside I had this extreme feeling of being in a National Treasure movie! An enormous building with its own chess rooms, old library with very high sealing (base picture) and I read a chapter of Wicked in that La Trobe Reading Room (upper left picture).

Afterwards I walked into Melbourne Central Station where they preserved the old building inside the new building! (lower right picture) I just had to see that. From there I walked up to Fed Square and to the Sunday Arts Market to get some ideas for souvenirs. They were closing the stands as I walked by so I soon headed home. At the end of this busy day I got home to discover that my fan was removed from my room. I still have to ask why.

Anyway, currently I?m watching the Formula 1 races? last laps live from the Melbourne circuit in Albert Park. And now I?ll have a soft drink and get this blip online. Cheers!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.