... with one eye open.

By Chamaeleo

Golden High Altitude Honey

I've back blipped my final skiing picture: our last day was fantastic, and our journey home was relatively low stress (phew!). The picture is of one of my favourite spots in La Plagne: a sweeping hairpin corner in the forest. I stood at the outermost part of the corner (as it swoops down towards me from the left, and then continues down away from me to the right) and took 5 portrait photographs which I then stitched into a panorama... I also added a close-up of a cute Alpine accentor to my blipfolio.

This is honey made at high altitude (1800m) in Savoie (the department in which La Plagne is located); it won gold medal in the local honey competition in 2011, and is here glowing gold on account of back-lighting from a torch, and the label is lit by my external flash. I wanted to blip an Egyptian goose (having had an anatid-free journal for more than a week!), but it was raining when I visited the pond and the Egyptian geese were in the middle (far from the edge) so I couldn't get a decent shot...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.