Rocky Mountain Moments

By pipersmom

Sights from my Bike Ride

I finally got up early enough to get out for a ride.  It's interesting to note the difference in the sky on the various images.  Middle row right was the first shot near home this morning and the sky was still bluish (not nearly as blue as usual).  I rode east, away from the mountains, and the shots facing east have a bluer sky.  As time went on, the smoke got worse and the middle image was taken on the way back west a few hours later.  The trees in the distance are in town so it is obvious that it got much worse in a short time.  The fires are still raging but at least the humidity is up in the 20s and there has been a little rain.

Top row is an Osprey with his lunch.  He was being pestered by another Osprey and this shows him guarding his fish and warning off the other bird.  Next is a lawn sign celebrating school starting today.  It is all virtual for now to be reevaluated in October.  On right is a Killdeer.  I heard her before I spotted her. :-)

Middle row is a paddleboarder with her child lying on the front of her board.  Next is our smokey landscape.  On the right is a sign of Fall on the way, YAY!  I saw a lot of changing leaves on the ride.  I am so ready to get past this hot weather!  

Bottom row is just a few of the hundreds of Starlings sitting on the powerlines.  Middle is part of Coors brewing operations.  I'm not sure why it is way out here because the brewery is about 35 miles southwest in Golden.  Last is a pair of unlikely buddies, a turkey and a Guinea Hen, wandering around a pasture together.

I wore my mask for the whole ride.  I usually take it off when I'm out of town but I think it probably helps with the smoke and particulates in the air.  I really tried to keep the ride short but I can't seem to do that once I get going, so I ended up riding 27 miles.  Now that I know I survived the ride, I'll get out more often again.   I am grateful that it wasn't quite as hot today, only 89 F when I got home about 1 PM. :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.