Life after Burradoo, NSW

By MountGrace

1951 - 1992

This is our beloved Graham who died at the age of 40 from AIDS. He would have been 69 today. I mentioned Graham in my blip on 30 July. He was a talented musician who rebuilt pianolas as a hobby. My blip - 30 July  He was a clever, funny man with a deliciously irreverent  sense of humour.

I took this photo the year before he was diagnosed with AIDS. He was 35. He and I shared an office with our desks abutting. We were both Teacher Advisors at the time.  He was a classic Jungian extrovert and I am a mildish Jungian introvert. Nearly every lunchtime he would say to me "What are you doing for lunch?" My answer would be "I'm going down to the shops to do such-and-such". "I'll come with you" he would say, being an extrovert (in the Jungian sense). "I don't want you to come with me" I would say, needing some time alone as Jungian introverts do.  Just as well we loved each other!

I was in our office when he came back with his diagnosis. All I could do was hug him. My partner, as she was then (wife now) and I, travelled the AIDS journey for the following five years with him. We still miss him greatly. Happy birthday beautiful boy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.