Caution Golf Course

I took a calculated risk this morning as to whether or not I would get a soaking when I walked to Bruntsfield and a long awaited coffee at the Costa café there.
Of course I got the soaking; but it was worth it just to experience a touch of before Covid normality. Missing were the newspapers to read, but I had my copy of Wolf Hall with me to keep my mind concentrated.

All my life I’ve noticed ladies of a certain age sitting alone in cafés and restaurants reading and pondered on what it must be like to be on one’s own, and there were several times as a Matriarch surrounded by a large demanding family that I envied them just a little - no longer. It’s hard getting used to being alone in places frequented by couples and families. Thank goodness for the diversion of reading matter. I should have been meeting a school friend this morning but she pulled a sickie - not Covid thankfully, so the meeting has been rearranged for next Friday.

After divesting myself of sodden clothes and shoes back home, I pounced on the stragglers at the bottom of the vegetable drawer and made a large pot of stew and some very tasty soup with butternut squash and a cooking apple and anything else that had got left behind. Two carrots and an onion are all that remain now.
The trouble is my freezer is small and filled to bursting with baking for Maggie’s. I can see my eating large quantities of vegetable stew at every possible occasion to avoid having to freeze it............ on the other hand.............I could eat the baking.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.