A casualty of storm Ellen

will become more plants for the next Rowcroft Hospice charity sale that I will hopefully hold in late September/early October. This gorgeous red salvia is an absolute star. I had my first plant as a cutting from Nicky, whose plant came from a friend who had it growing at their property, I believe in Spain, so I don't know it's name but I've Googled red salvia and up popped Salvia 'Jezebel'. I love that name, but it will have to remain Salvia microphylla 'Mystery Red". It strikes really easily hence me having it all around the garden, in containers, hanging baskets, & in the border, so anyone buying this plant will get a really good performer. These stems have snapped off the planted hanging basket outside the front door.
A lazy start this morning, I'm reading 'The Date', author Louise Jensen. With nothing to do, no watering etc. on the plot, I ate my breakfast at a leisurely pace and read a few chapters. Not my normal choice of reading material, I can't remember where I got this book, but I have enjoyed reading it.  I wrapped Josie's birthday pressie, then nipped up to the post office to post off a couple of other birthday cards. One to Barbados, Jane's birthday is on the 29th, so it should reach her in time. The post office assistant remarked on the destination, "Have you been there?" "Yes" The conversation continued on the areas of the island, where she had visited, was I familiar with where she had been ... All the time I see the queue, forming behind me, making me feel a little uncomfortable .. but she continued. I smiled as I made my getaway.
Next I picked up Mum, she's coming along for the ride, as I drop off Josie's present & card. We then continued around the coast stopping in Morrison's at Teignmouth to pick up a few bits, well a couple of Danish pastries to have with a coffee on our return. Back at Mum's I tried to fix Mum's laptop but she did'nt have a mouse, & I'm hopeless without, the mouse will accompany me on my next visit which will be tomorrow morning.  I suggested she did a jigsaw backalong, so I picked one up from the village swap/loan library in CK. She has  all the pieces on a felted board, it just looks a muddle to me so I suggested moving the pieces to a separate board .. but I could'nt stop. Places to go, people/husband to see. Lunch done! I checked on the plants in the garden which was when I found the damaged plant in the blip.
Off to the library to print off a copy of hubbies new car insurance certificate. Tick!
The allotment next, staked the 'Swift' sweetcorn, pulled carrots for dinner, lettuce & runner beans harvested, picked some plums, then headed home.
Roast duck with a plum sauce, & homegrown veggies for dinner tonight. It's so satisfying eating what I've grown.
Time to put the veg on and make the sauce.

Thanks to BikerBear/Anni for hosting

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.