Burradoo Journal

By Burradoo

Camping on the Georgina River

Another walk, another podcast. This one was a conversation with bushman and adventurer Owen Davies, who walked 1000kms from Camooweal to Birdsville, accompanied by two dingoes and a mob of goats. He put pack saddles on the goats and they carried his gear, like other walkers do with camels.
 
It was the pack saddled goats that caught my attention. My family kept goats when I was a small child, and I wouldn’t have thought a goat would be so biddable. A particularly assertive billy goat called Harry once butted me into a river. You wouldn’t have tried putting a saddle on Harry.
 
Anyway, Owen evidently had a way with goats, and he made the journey successfully. From Camooweal his route led along the Georgina River. We bush camped by the Georgina River in 2009, in a beautiful tranquil spot with abundant bird life and water lilies.
 
Oh yes, and a snake (extra). Owen describes a scary encounter he had along the Georgina with a death adder. I don’t know what sort of snake it was that I almost stepped on. Fortunately it wasn’t a death adder, and it seemed more intent on getting away than on attacking us.

You can just see our caravan through the trees.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.