missjatravers

By missjatravers

Happy Year of the Snake - Offerings to the dragon!

Happy Year of the Snake everyone!
I missed the main celebrations in Chinatown today as I was having a very nice pub dinner in Lark Lane with friends, but after Sophie and Maggie the border terrier had returned to Knutsford I ventured into chinatown in search of the dragon!
I'm not sure that I found THE dragon, but I found 3 dragons in Bold St, and fair play to the guys in the costume, they spend the whole day going to every single chinese restaurant/business in Chinatown area , of which there are heaps! and dance at the entrance, then the children come out and offer them what looked like chinese lettuces which they spit out and then they give gifts to the children, (in exchange for mysterious red envelopes I noticed!) and then move on to the next place. All this in the drizzling rain of a cold February day , one way to keep warm I guess! Bringing good luck to all the businesses in the area!
:-) more photos are here!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.