A slice of Lesley's life

By Lesley

Colourful

The legal graffiti wall at the Southbank Centre. I wonder how the experience changes for the artist with it being sanctioned. I love this part of the Southbank. Lots of vibrant happenings - streetdance crews, BMXers and skateboarders. And nearly all being videoed and no doubt all on YouTube by now. Great free entertainment. Personally, I think it looks better bigger but I'm quite a fan of graffiti and I know not everyone is.

We were there for some paid entertainment, though at £12 for adults and £6 for the kids I thought the Funharmonics concert from the London Philharmonic Orchestra was fantastic value. The concert was part of the Rest is Noise festival which is celebrating music from the 20th Century and today's concert was music from the Roaring Twenties. Aside from the concert there were 'have-a-go' sessions where the kids got to try out various orchestral instruments. This was part of the reason for going as Anna wants to stop learning the recorder and start learning what I like to call a 'real instrument' (I know a recorder player won Young Musician of the Year last year but I still think of it as a starter instrument). Jackson was just along for the concert having declared his lack of desire to learn a new instrument. And he stuck with that right up to the point he tried out a clarinet and swiftly changed his mind. Anna too had a change of heart, having been adamant that she wanted to try the cello. However, the long queue for the cellos meant that fate intervened and she tried the (half-size) double bass instead. She smiled from ear to ear so I guess that means a slightly unexpected choice.

Back home for homework, roast lamb and a movie.

Fabulous Sunday.
Lesley x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.