Life In Wales

By KarenC

Camping Out

My day started with an early morning swim at the Lido, and I swam my furthest yet - 40 lengths of the 44m pool. I want to try and increase this by 6 more lengths as that will be about 2km, but I ran out of time as you only get an hours’ session, so I need to try and speed up a bit.

We then spent the morning cleaning the house and at 3pm dropped the boys off at Charlotte’s as we were going camping. Kate’s sister had very kindly said that we could spend the night in her field which was a great opportunity for us to try out the awning tent and all our equipment.

We met Jane, Kate and Simon at the field, and after a chat, Kate and I took it in turns to hide so that Jane’s dogs could do a bit of ‘search & rescue’. They did well and we were successfully found.

After they’d gone, we put up the tent and it was a very valuable experience as we made a few mistakes along the way, so we know for next time. But all in all it’s great, we had a lovely evening and took a bottle of champagne to toast our first night. The sky went from being very overcast to the most amazing sunset, so we walked down to the bottom of the field to the Jane’s little jetty where I took this shot through the reeds. The sky kept on giving, so I’ve added a few extras.

I don’t think I’ve laughed so much in ages, particularly when I fell down a rabbit hole in the dark lol! And during the course of our evening, while chatting to Louise, we’ve now got names for everything - Bertie the Bus (as you know), Terry the Tent, Penny the Porta Porto, and if we get the pod, he will be called Percy the Pod :-) I’ve got to pass the test tonight before Alan will commit to the pod!

I’d made a chilli and rice at home which I was able to heat up on the little kitchen, so all in all it’s been great. Now to sleep!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.