Unsettled

I spoke with the man from the Census Office and the job is in the office, wearing a mask all day, so I said no.  Even if I wanted to take the risk, it would mean I couldn't be with the twins, and I would never take that chance.

May is in the hospital for the second time in two weeks, because her COPD has gotten very bad.  They've had her on oxygen, but there really isn't much else they can do for her. So we are calling in hospice once she gets home and providing comfort care until she passes away.  Lex and I had a long talk about it today and, by reading about what comfort care really means, felt that our decision was made on the basis of what was right for her rather than on our feelings.  I haven't seen her in months, because of the surgery and then Covid, but Lex and I will drive up to see her once she's home again.  It stirs up such a mix of feelings now that our always troubled seventy plus year relationship will be coming to an end.  But I will have some time to process it all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.