MONO MONDAY - MALE

I was undecided about doing the Mono Monday challenge today but when I went upstairs to get changed ready to go out, and looked out of our bedroom window, I saw Mr. HCB and our next-door neighbour, Mike, “bonding over the bricks”, so decided that two males were better than one - so here they are.  There is even some pareidolia if you look just behind Mike, which I believe is a plastic watering can.

I decided I would be brave this morning and go over to the Orbital Shopping Centre at North Swindon, and as Mr. HCB was otherwise engaged, went on my own.

I felt fine, and obviously wore my face mask, except that lots of people still don’t know how much 2 metres measures!  The way people wore their face masks was interesting - several women were wearing them under their nose and I saw one teenager with her mask pulled down, biting her nails!  I kept mine on from the time I got out of the car until I got back in the car and thankfully, my glasses didn’t steam up today.

I found the staff in Marks & Spencer very helpful, bought what I wanted and left.  I then went into Next and Boots and that was fine too, except that mothers with children were allowing them to wander around without bothering about physical distancing.  I realise it must be difficult for children, but they’re going to have to practise it when they go back to school in September, so they might as well learn now.

I can’t honestly say that I will be going out shopping on a regular basis, but it was good to go out and on my own too.  I didn’t stop for a coffee, which is unlike me, but not having done it for so long, it didn’t seem that important.

When I got home, Mr. HCB and Mike had finished the brickwork and Mr. HCB was cutting down more branches from the trees overhanging our garden before the fence is erected on Saturday.  I decided to do an hour in the garden too, cutting the edges of the grass and deadheading and then the rain came, which put a stop to that, so I think it’s an afternoon of reading before Adam from Leightons comes to try and find out why the TV Adapter isn’t working properly in conjunction with Mr. HCB’s hearing aids.  

“Definition of good neighbor: 
     someone to be trusted; 
          a courteous, friendly source of help 
               when help is needed; 
someone you can count on; 
     someone who cares.”     
Edward B. Rust

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.