ayearinthelife

By ayearinthelife

Run

Finally! After two months of failed attempts, I managed to run a 5K this evening without a) pulling up in pain near the end, b) walking the last 2K because knee gave up or c) not even starting because knee was hurting!
My Strava feed from 14th June records that I got within 40 seconds of my 5K under 30 minutes goal, but I’m afraid it’s been all downhill (not literally!) since then as I’ve been persistently plagued by my dodgy right knee (legacy of a dislocation whilst climbing on Dow Crag, Coniston thirty odd years ago)
Rest and wearing a support helped, but each time I tried a run the knee would give out after 3 - 4K and would then require a couple of weeks rest before trying again. But since getting back in the gym again three weeks ago, I have been able to do several exercises specifically focused on strengthening the muscles around the knee.
And it seems to be working. No major pain today and the last two kilometres were actually faster than the first three, suggesting that the gentle start was the way to go.
Very pleased, and glad to have got this run in before the weather turns bad again. Hopefully I won’t be hit with any aches and pains tomorrow and I’ll have a couple more sessions in the gym before trying again. The goal is still the same but I’m going to take it steady and make sure I reach it without further injury.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.