ayearinthelife

By ayearinthelife

Every Picture Tells a Story

Though this story is not exactly edifying.
I used to do training work for Costa, and one of the things that they drummed into us trainers - and that we in turn drummed into the trainees - was the importance of brand standards. Not just the way in which the drink should be made, but also the way in which it should be served.
Not all Costa outlets are owned and run by Costa themselves. Some are owned by franchisees and though they are, in theory, subject to the same standards and audit checks, there are a few operating differences which can sometimes lead to issues arising.
This morning, for example, I could not have a skinny drink because they had no skimmed milk. I ordered a Frostino for a friend and asked for it without chocolate sauce. Not a problem, as they’d run out of chocolate sauce. But I did want cream on it and that was a problem, as they’d also run out of cream! Whilst you can forgive this as a “one off”, I was told by said friend that they had run out of these things last week as well!
But all that paled into insignificance compared to today’s major brand standard fail. I knew the cups didn’t look quite right as I carried them out, but it took a little while before the penny dropped.
All I’ll say is - look closely at the picture and see if you can spot what is wrong......

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.