Double Dutch

Another day, another trip down my favourite(!) road to Barrow. After yesterday’s band rehearsal, it was obvious that there were a few numbers that I needed to brush up on. Or totally re-learn if you want to be strictly accurate.
Fortunately, my ever patient - and supremely talented - guitar maestro friend Stuart was willing to go through those numbers with me - again! Having cleared up a few minor points on the songs I do (mostly) know, we then turned to the ones I was struggling with.
Slowly we ran through each one as I tried to get my head round when I should start - or finish - each verse, chorus or solo. As I got to grips with each section, I wrote it down in my note book so that I could refer back to it later, when I was practising on my own.
At which point Stuart enquired as to how one could possibly comprehend such strange notations. Actually, those weren’t his exact words - he was a lot more succinct - but this is a family blip, so I shall refrain from quoting him verbatim.
Anyway, it makes sense to me and I can use those scribblings to work my way through each song. As it starts to stick in my aged memory, I can start refining my notation so that the end result is more of an aide memoire than a full transcription of the piece. That way I can concentrate on playing but be able to quickly glance down if I need to check what to play under a solo or how we end the song.
It’s not infallible, and there really is no substitute for me learning every song. But just like when I’m in a play, I can only learn things properly through constant repetition. Which is why I never really master my lines until the last couple of rehearsals. And why it’s going to take a few more gigs before I’ll be comfortable with all the songs in the set. And as long as it’s not another two years before those next gigs!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.