Cigs

By Cigs

After the recent finds at Helmsdale and Meadowbank, I wondered just how many I had to get until the next blip milestone. 29 it seems. A mere 29, Could I eke out another 29..? There's 2 maybe 3 at Meadowbank, possibly another on the walls further along the railway line; something rings a bell about a bin at Roseburn - after passing it last week with the Ciglettes as we cycled back from a successful ascent of Tinto, I wondered.... did I blip it? (I think there's a photo but I'm not sure I ever posted it)
And there's one rather uninspiring one at Musselburgh on the Esk walkway thingy. Hmmmm...

So as it's the day of rest, I figured a gentle cycle around the likely hot spots to see fi there were any I'd previously missed. The graffiti wall proved fruitless; so I went off to the other side of town - Straiton (via the scenic route - Roslin - ok, maybe it was as much about racking up a few miles as a Cigs hunt, but one helps the other...)

Straiton proved Cigless but a couple of humourous Siors were there; so on I went to Dalkeith and the underpasses at the back of Dobbies. I arrived as the rain arrived for the afternoon. Great. Me with no jacket. So I got dutifully stung and scratched by nettles and brambles and found one of the 3 in the northern underpass has been painted over; and that Sehven 25 / KPM and Itios have left some fine work next to the Cigs that's high up there. The Too Much Valium one remains too. 

But really there's not much to do there once you've admired the wall coverings. So I peered out into the gloom and looked to the heavens....and there it was a sign from above...! As I dropped the camera and caught it again, the blip was taken as I hit the shutter in the grab. If I'd been at the Ageas instead, of at Dalkeith Jimmy Anderson would be on 601 wickets by now. 

The rain failed to abate, I got thoroughly soaked and I found no further Cigs at QMU although I didn't do the full circuit. Team orders. I've got to save myself for the TdF next week.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.