Hot Stuff

The skies were clear enough around home that we stayed put today, even tidied up the yard for an hour or so. It was good to be outside. Every surface is covered with ashes—sidewalks, paths,leaves,vegetables, spiderwebs, furniture. I wish I had a giant vacuum cleaner. The lightning never came last night, so we were spared more blazes. Fires are still burning in the mountains, it is far from finished, but I think the town itself has been spared. The firefighters are doing an amazing job of keeping things under control. I don’t think we will have to make a run for it.


I saw a picture of our auditorium, which has been transformed into a shelter. There are tents set up on the wooden floor, covidly spaced, tidy and heartbreaking. There is another shelter at the fairgrounds, and several churches have taken people in. I read there are nurses on duty, taking temperatures and monitoring safe distances. If this were a movie you would just walk out about now. 


The photo is of some peppers we sautéed for dinner. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.