Wanderings & Witterings

By IvarBlipS

Finesse

I like lists. Making lists, ticking things off lists, creating new lists, making sure I post a photo every day to a website, that sort of thing. I wouldn't say lists are an obsession to me, although my friends might disagree. So when I read on social media recently that a new set of six sculptures had been installed around the Larbert area, I just had to go and investigate. And, being the kind of person I am, I had to visit them all in one go, didn't I? As they say about Pokemon, "gotta catch 'em all".

A short drive over to Larbert on Saturday afternoon to begin my quest, and about 10km walking and three hours later (I stopped for coffee and a sticky bun at Tim Horton's in Stenhousemuir along the way) I had visited and photographed all six of these rather wonderful roundels. One of them is, unsurprisingly, my Blip for today. I have also added another 'map' sculpture helpfully provided at Crownest Park, Stenhousemuir.

The social media post describes the sculptures like this: "A series of large coin monuments... depicting the different elements and processes associated with the [local] foundries. These large coins, made of stainless steel, and mounted onto beautiful granite boulders will be positioned along one of the heritage trails in Larbert and Stenhousemuir"

"Community artists, NADFLY, were appointed to devise a concept that would both celebrate our local heritage and also encourage exploration of the local heritage trails. Foundry Fortunes is a project funded by Paths for All, Falkirk Council and Heritage Lottery Fund. The project’s aim is to celebrate local heritage and encourage people to explore their local area by walking, scooting or cycling."

Result! Not that I needed much encouragement, but they do seem to have caught the imagination.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.