Mound

I cycled up to Berry and Helen’s house in late afternoon. Some form of lockdown has gone on for so long now that during it their daughter has sequentially learnt to crawl, walk and now talk.

I got absolutely drenched to my underwear en route as my cycle timed with a heavy downpour. I sat on the floor in damp shorts and a towel around my head like a religious garment. I proffered a bag of jam doughnuts as comfort food, which I’d picked up from Co-op on the way. My advice would be to not buy junk food from Co-op as no one needs their doughnuts to be made ethically. It results in a much lower sugar content and a bland, dry taste. If a doughnut doesn’t cover one’s fingers in sugar and spill jam all over one’s clothes, it has not done its job. Plus it was Sunday and the batch seemed stale.

I was still damp but the sky was clear as I left, so I nipped up Castle Mound for the view.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.