Julesey's

By Julesey

Drippy Blips

Inspired by Lazooligirl earlier I looked about the internet for clues on how to do drip blips. There were some great videos on you tube. The best tip I think was hanging a plastic bag of water above the tray of water so the drips are always in the same place. Makes focussing easier although I still found it hard. The other tip was to set the white balance to tungsten which makes it go blue. Fab.
My equipment was limited. A roasting tray balanced on a stool with a white ( ish) towel hung off the table behind it. Apparently it works much better with a low light flash that is separate from the camera. I didnt have one of these so just used the built in flash ( which is pretty low in intensity anyway)
For a first attempt I was pretty chuffed and had difficulty choosing between two or three. My bubble was only slightly burst when Mr J went into the kitchen and shouted "Bloody hell it's like the film set from the Life of Pi in here" Bah! The floor needed mopping anyway.
I will look for the separate flash thingy. I also need a decent tripod and no end of gadgets I see mentioned on blips here. Will start with the tripod and start saving for the rest.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.