Homage

I love an island holiday. All islands are special but some are more special than others. The Western Isles, the Inner and Outer Hebrides, and all the tiny isles and islets that dot our coastline and inland water are beautiful, fascinating - all special. But given the choice I vote for the Northern Isles every time. Shetland this year was cancelled months ago but we held on to the prospect of Orkney. Originally booked for the end of August (now) it was shifted to October and then, reluctantly of course, postponed till this time next year. A long journey north and two ferries crossings each way just felt too risky for everyone concerned.

I should have been rushing round packing for an early start tomorrow but instead I've assembled some bits of Orkney memorabilia and made a little homage:
The chair - a present on a significant birthday (bit of a devil to photograph)
A scarf and a cushion from Hume Sweet Hume
Two jugs from the Westray Pottery
A necklace from Ola Gorie
A pair of gloves and a hat from talented blipper Poppy

Well I know I'm fortunate to have been able to contemplate a holiday in the first place, not to be cancelling because I'm ill and to have the chance to go again next year. Still, I'll miss seeing Orkney friends, including blip friends, seeing the beautiful islands, the colours, the crafts, the fish and chips... Anyway, I'm sharing some Orkney with you today.

We were stood down from Wednesday childminding because they've all got a horrible cold, no doubt earned through nursery and school attendance. In normal times I wouldn't think twice about helping out in the face of a cold but these aren't normal times. It worked out well as the dentist phoned and asked if I could pop in for the third and final bit of treatment on my chipped tooth today instead of Friday. So that's that sorted.

Later on I'll have yoga then a public Community Council meeting. The storm has gone leaving a lot of branches off the trees and some pretty soggy ground but as far as I can tell nothing worse.

Sadly two covid related deaths were reported today and the number of people in both hospital and intensive care has gone up. We were right to cancel the holiday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.