About to turn

By jMcLean

Waiting for Laura

The skies up here were lovely and sunny today, but in less than an hour Hurricane Laura will slam into Texas & Louisiana. Sustained winds at 150 mph and a life-threatening storm surge. There are a lot of people in her path.

(I'm also waiting for my friend Laura, and her family, to return from Vermont.)

Lots of humdrum admin work today and no writing. Much continued disturbing, appalling news (Wisconsin now). William helped Isabelle complete her driving hours tonight with an after-dark drive into DC. They paused for a wander, and she texted me photos of the lit-up Capitol and Supreme Court buildings. It's an hour each way, and those were the last two hours needed for her license.

Meanwhile I took a short drive to Ida Lee, our community center, where I found these two images: sunflowers with the moon, and evening crepe myrtle (a bit blurry).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.