Home Made

This mightn't quite qualify as abstract (but I bet you don't know what it is). However it's definitely home made. Thanks Ingeborg.

My Dad had little education. He left the one teacher country school when he was about 12 but he was a prolific reader, very knowledgeable and could do anything on his farm. Back then you had to.

His biggest skill was making and fixing things. When I wanted a lazy susan for the scrabble board he produced this. The only recognisable part is the red lid. It has Rheem (who made hotwater systems etc) written on it and the instructions for opening whatever it was included "place knee in centre, pull each segment upwards". Obviously strong, which is probably why it has lasted over 40 years at least. I don't know what he used for the turning mechanism - probably some old engine parts. This is the view from the underside.

He would have turned 100 next year. Sadly none of his abilities seem to have been passed on to the succeeding generations.

I've had a rare sick day today. I think it's a touch of diverticulitis. I've put myself on clear fluids and hope I can get on top of it :-(

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.