GoProBlipper

By GoProBlipper

Holy smoke batman

It’s still winter, just by a couple of days and the Aussie Bush is burning again. Smoke in the sky, ash falling to the ground, that smell of burning Bush, helicopters are buzzing, sirens and rfs units stationed around the national park. The big difference at first is this was meant to be a planned, controlled burn.

The weekend plans were meant to be in Sydney with me photographing a cycling race Sunday morning. Mid week national parks withdrew their permission for the race to proceed. Woohoo I get to go away and ride myself now. Except I turn up to Fingal Bay and they are burning off in Tomaree NP.

Fortunately the back burning didn’t affect my 4 hour mountain bike ride, which included a nice lunch + coffee stop. A quick stop at the bike shop to buy some more lube as I’d let a couple of waves on the beach catch and swamp me in salt water. After the ride the bike was cleaned, lubed and dried.

A small rest and some fish n chips was followed by a decent 6km walk with my sister. Plus an enjoyable game of monopoly, I lost. Now it’s time to watch stage 1 of le Tour de France.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.