Candle

I seem to have lost my imagination and creativity at the moment, so I'm hoping for some better weather next week, and a bit more energy, to persuade me to leave the house and search for some more interesting subjects.

This strange shape is the split wick of a candle seen through decorative holes in the side of a slate candleholder.  I bought a pair of these candleholders in the Lake District some years ago.  The extra shows what they look like.

 I am aware of the phenomenon of focus breathing, where changing the focus on a lens changes the effective focal length, but has anyone come across a similar effect where changing the aperture also changes the effective focal length?  It is something I seemed to experience when I was experimenting with this image.


Thanks for comments and suggestions on yesterday's blip.  I have tried a modification in response.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.