Liberated!

I am in a hotel. Can you imagine? 

Yesterday afternoon I decided enough was enough, and I had to get away from home. Just one night, but then it was all a bit last minute. 

The hotel is in Forres, which is 3 hours drive north. It is also my father's home town, so my memories of the place go back as far as I do. Grandmother. Uncle and aunt. Cousins. Summer holidays. Easter visits. 

I have been driving past this hotel as long as it has been here, and never gone in. To be honest, I never saw it as my kind of place. Full of old people. Old people who think they are a bit posh because they can afford it.

I suppose I am one of them now, but without the posh bit. And the money obviously - a cheap last minute deal. 

I enjoyed the drive to get here - the novelty of driving for 3 hours after weeks of living under restrictions. 

So far I am quite happy with the hotel’s hygiene arrangements. 

I suppose I can pick out two highlights. First, an afternoon walk beside the River Findhorn. No sound except the roar of the water. 

Next, an evening walk in Findhorn village. It had a real “end of summer” feel. It got me a Blip.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.