Sally Mair - Loving life

By Sallymair

Save the bees!

That orange thing is the bees tongue! Having heard that bees are low on energy just now I rescued this one from the path with a sweet pea pod and put it on a saucer with some sugar water. It was fascinating to watch its tongue going in and out of the water feeding. It stayed around for about half an hour, so clearly revived then moved on. The extra is the same shot without the tongue, much more polite! I was really pleased with these shots straight out of the camera.

I finally managed, with the change in weather today to motivate myself into going for a run. As I feared my stamina levels have dropped dramatically and I couldn't manage much more than a km without having to slow down to a walk. I managed about 2.5km in total. I must get back to more regular outings.

We went out to the Gyle today both of us had lost nose pads off our specs. Specsavers couldn't have been more helpful. Three pairs of glasses fixed in the time it took me to go to buy a couple of things in M&S and back. A complete contrast to our local opticians whose window is full of a sign telling the things they won't do. Including - "If you need spectacles we will bring you a selection which meet your requirements, sorry no browsing just now". I don't think I'd be spending the amount of money I do, on a pair of glasses, without being able to choose my frames. Specsavers provided customers with a tray on arrival and said - "Please put any pair that you handle into the tray and we'll clean and sanitise them before putting them back out" . Maybe Dominic Cummings trip was worth it!!!!

The Gyle was very strange, lots of empty shops and benches with plastic covers on them so that people had to sit at the two ends only. Not very many people either and I don't think I saw anybody not wearing a mask.

Talking of which, I made a mask for Colin today using one of his favourite shirts which sadly is past its best. I even managed to incorporate the posh logo so he'll be the talk of the steamie when he wears it!

Nice to see some more settled weather today but sad to see the case numbers going up again. Keep safe everybody.

Steps today, 13059, hooray!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.