Dragon on the Town

Sorry to post yet another dragonfly, but I just couldn't resist.  This was taken on an iron fence post in Georgetown. Not what I expected to see and it was taken with a 16-50 kit lens. For whatever reason, it let me get right down in its face.
 
We have been trying to plan an excursion every week and it has proven a challenge to find new places to explore.  We have both been here for over 40 years and have pretty much been everywhere.  During the week my husband started researching some of the houses in Georgetown and their famous occupants throughout history, and he plotted out a "walking tour" for us. 

We saw Julia Child's house, seven different houses where JFK lived, and the house where Jackie lived after the assassination, which is across the street from the house that was once owned by Ben Bradley and Sally Quinn.. Other homes included those owned by  Dean Acheson,  Pamela Harriman, Supreme Court Justice Felix Frankfurter (Henry Kissinger and Cyrus Vance also owned that house at different times) and the house where Alexander Graham Bell developed the telephone.  

My. husband had all kinds of historical stories about the occupants to amuse me and take my mind off the fact that it was 90 degrees and very humid.  Fortunately, the streets are all shaded.  It was a great way to get in 4-5 miles of walking and enjoy a little history too.   I give him a solid A+ for this excursion.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.