Sunny Saturday

It was nice to have the sun back after all the horrible weather.  It got a bit too strong for me at one point as I could feel myself burning whilst trying to hack down a dead shrub in the garden.

Our neighbours are having the fence between our properties replaced at long last. They haven’t given the chap an easy job as they won’t let him cut down the hedge they grew in front of it! He is doing it from our side for easy access but it is still a nightmare job as their hedge is full of massive brambles and rose thorns.  It drives us mad having to hack it all back when it grows over as we are always getting caught by the brambles.

I am sure that last of the problem they have fence problems is that they can’t get to it to treat it and the brambles are so strong they eventually push through the panels and wreck it.

After he’d managed to get one the old panels out,  one of our hedge plants started leaning at a precarious angle and on investigation It completely keeled over and snapped off at the bottom of its trunk. I think it was on its last legs anyway and the dismantling of the fence was the last straw.

So, we pulled it out and had a go at cutting it up into small enough bits to go in the garden waste bin. It had a very stubborn trunk so lots of axe swinging and sawing were required - oh for a power tool!  

We’ll have to see what to do with that part of the garden next. Apparently the plan is for the neighbours to do a mixture of fence panels and wire fencing which could look really bad! At this rate we’ll have to put our own fence up to hide their fence.

I’ll cross my fingers that it looks better then expected.  I’ll snap it in progress so I can see if it does turn out to the good.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.